Eat the veggies, and go sleep early!

Eat the veggies, and go sleep early!

You can never know it in Moscow!

2019. július 07. - Mice Elf

Indeed I didn't take the the wrong subway but it was going to the wrong direction. "Ne problema" just walked to the one opposite where I got off. Guess what! In Moscow opposite subway lines are usually not the same lines to opposite direction. I was on the brown line. I realized this in one stop so I took off and tried to replan my journey:

Brown line Kurskaya to Koltsevaya, what for some uncertain reason only called Koltsevaya on the brown line, same stop is Marksistkaya on yellow line.

And from there to Aviamotornaya. I took the brown one and got to Masrkistkaya. I saw the yellow subway departing so I had to make a quick decision. Peeped in, by the little LEDs under the stops I thought it is mine. I was wrong... Took the wrong one again. At least it was fuck up proof from there, the next stop was the final destination of the yellow line. I found the one to the right direction that took me to Aviamotornaya. There I wasn't brave enough to cross a TEN(!) lanes road so I tried to get to the other side underground. It took me 3 attempts to find the right exit. From there it was a straight walk to the hostel.

There were boxes at the hostel's reception for the shoes and nobody was allowed to wear them inside the hostel. After I took the shoes off and got my flip-flops on I've been guided around the hostel. The receptionist shown me the bathroom, the kitchen, my room, my bed, and also got me a locker. Possibly the best customer service I have ever received in a hostel and the first time when I had a proper locker.

I really needed a good rest. Next day I woke up around midday. I remembered that on my way to the hostel there were several shops and food places so I start walking back to Aviamotornaya. Few hundreds of meters from the hostel I found a place where they sold Chicken kebabs. When I walked in with no russian I had a bit too much of unwanted attention. I asked if they have an English menu. They were a bit unfriendly about that. So I told them that I cannot read Russian and smiled. I love to be a tourist and interact with people who I won't ever see again. After a few seconds of laughter most of them usually feel bad about laughing at me and starts being nice. It didn't happen differently this time. I start getting smiles and everyone found their phones with Google translate.

It was raining outside so I decided to take the rest of the day off. As I got back to the hostel I just met three guys from Uzbekistan. They were working in Moscow. Google translate made the bridge again. I didn't even try to show off, but they were so impressed by things that I'd find really basic. I only answered questions and asked mines. There was one guy, Otabek who was really interested in everything. He wanted to hear about England, Hungary, everything. He asked how much I saw from Russia so far. I said I only saw the train station and the subway. He asked if I want to see Moscow.

 - why not?

We went to a place before a gate. There were nothing special, but he stopped grabbed my two shoulders turned me towards him to make sure I pay attention and said something like "centerrr Moskwah", and turned me towards some square shaped thing on the pavement with a circle in it's middle. I was really thankful, but I felt the same as others might feel when I tell them that Chester has the second most photographed clock in England. "Okey."

After that we went towards that really colourful building that I have seen so many times on photos, but on the way he  stopped and explained that there's that building where Russian Presidents are buried. There was a barrier. "Now we can start talking!"

 - what happens if I cross the barriers - I asked.

 - They shout you. - he answered like it was so obvious like gravity or something.

 I still consider Keti's poker face the number one when she said that she has 5 kids and I believed her(you can never know in Georgia), but Otabek was quite good too and you can never know it in Russia either.

He looked at his watch, Google translate:

 - we are just in the best time. They change guards. Come!

I really not the kind of person who takes photos and then upload them to social media and later wonder why the government bullies with taxation, but I wanted to get one photo of that colorful thingy to my family to show that I was in Moscow.

You can do it later!

It was the same like in the videos, but I was lucky enough to capture as one of the guards almost fell on his face because of the slippery ground. Those guys were still lucky with that light showers, because as soon as they changed it start pissing the hell down so I wanted to take a photo even more. I quietly mention here that I was missing England and it made me feel that it isn't about the photo anymore, but about the "work" taking the photo.

Otabek flaked out and waited by the sheltered market.

There was a guy who was taking selfies by the building, I asked him if we could take pictures of eachother instead of the forever alone selfies. He agreed. I don't know how happy he was with the ones I took but I wasn't with the ones he made so shoot a few selfies anyways. (For most people it is good to be photographed from a lower angel so they look taller and leaner, but when someone is actually tall and lean it just makes us look like a spaghetti.)

We spent some time in the market to dry out. In the way back Otabek invited me to an Uzbek restaurant where he ordered and didn't let me pay for my own meal. Firstly we got some bakeries with lamb and onion inside. Then he had a soup and I had the Uzbek national food the Pilov. It was rice with carrots, onions, sheep and also with some salad. It was a bit oily for the first time, but as I ate more I enjoyed it more.

It was the 26th and my train on the 29th departed at 0:35 so I only had the 27th as a full day. For that time I was already nervous as fuck so I had no intention of leaving my comfort zone or the hostel. I was mentally preparing for the type two fun.

For the new ones: type two fun is that we don't really enjoy when happens, but latter we can have some confidence from it why we could get through it.

I stayed in the hostel and finished the Swedish and Finnish post.(inception! blogging about blogging) I really thought that my eyes were bigger than my stomach with this travel and I shouldn't have planned for more than two weeks. I gave myself a little push. I went to buy some food and also stopped by my chicken kebab place. I took some challenge and tried to order an other plate. They remembered me and were extremely kind, but I decided to stay miserable. Sometimes I really need a push, but at that point it wasn't the case so I wasn't gonna take pressure of taking the most out of my staying, it never works. Went back to the hostel.

I wanted to do something useful so I have downloaded the confirmations of tickets and renamed/organized them.

Next day I went to the Auchan, or as we used to called it in Hungary; the bird tesco. It was in an even comparing to Russian architecture big ass building. And it wasn't an inverse version of Hermione's bag. It was probably the largest store I've ever been to. And by having a closer look on all products I just kept having my mind blown. They had 0.5 litre of vodka for about £2.7. And big boxes with different types of sugars and the customer could portion them. Most of the products cost more or less 80% of the UK prices. I didn't buy vodka, but asked for stuff that I could eat a week later. The best sellers for the Trans-Siberian Express were sandwiches. And previously I also find out that there's infinite boiled water supplie on the train so noodles came second.

Went back to the hostel got even more emotional, texted people who I would miss and started to get my life together for the trip.

A bejegyzés trackback címe:

https://benhuang4real.blog.hu/api/trackback/id/tr3314929786

Kommentek:

A hozzászólások a vonatkozó jogszabályok  értelmében felhasználói tartalomnak minősülnek, értük a szolgáltatás technikai  üzemeltetője semmilyen felelősséget nem vállal, azokat nem ellenőrzi. Kifogás esetén forduljon a blog szerkesztőjéhez. Részletek a  Felhasználási feltételekben és az adatvédelmi tájékoztatóban.

süti beállítások módosítása